Saturday, August 13, 2011

UNESCO’s 2011 Literacy Prizewinners: Working for peace and gender equality

The Director-General of UNESCO, Irina Bokova, today announced the six winners of the Organization’s International Literacy Prizes for 2011, a  selection made on the recommendation of an international jury, which met between 4 and 8 July in Paris.The theme of this year’s prizes is literacy  and peace, with special consideration to gender equality. Prizewinners include programmes in Burundi, Mexico, the United States of America, and the Democratic Republic of Congo, with honourable mentions to programmes in  Pakistan and the Philippines. The prizes will be awarded at an official ceremony on 8 September during International Literacy Day celebrations in New Delhi, India.

The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize 

The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy


More on 2011 winners here.



No comments:

Post a Comment